The Science and Technical Awards 2013

The 2012 Sci-Tech Awards Ceremony

Image via:

Almost since the very beginning, the Academy has honoured the achievements of pioneers in the fields of science and technology. The roles that these two areas play in moviemaking have been crucial to the advancement of the motion-picture industry.

They were first presented at the 4th Academy Awards ceremony back in 1931. These awards are given to original developments that lead to the most significant improvements in film.

There are three levels of achievement in the Sci-Tech Awards: the Technical Achievement Award, which is a certificate, the Scientific and Engineering Award, a bronze tablet, and the Academy Award of Merit, the famous Oscar statue.

The most recent winners of the Scientific and Technical Oscars have included IMAX, for its large-format, wide-angle films and unique filming methods, and Horst Burbulla, for his invention of the Technocrane telescoping camera crane.

The presentation of these awards are made during a formal dinner that is always held before the famous Oscar ceremony. This has been tradition since the 1977 Awards and different locations have featured, from the Beverly Hilton to the Regent Beverly Wilshire. Hosts of the past have included Charlize Theron, Jennifer Garner and Richard Dreyfuss.

The Scientific and Technical Awards ceremony now generally takes place two weeks prior to the main Academy Awards ceremony.

This years awards will be held tomorrow, on February 15th in the Beverly Hills Hotel in California. Check back here on Inside Film soon for a rundown of the winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *